Common Sense, Common Sensibilities

I’m spending my night listening to some of my favourite songs in chipmunk speed because I’m bored and need a little cheering up just because I over-think and over-analyse things unnecessarily. I can’t help it… I’m made this way.

Gone were the days when I was a cold heartless person who had no emotions whatsoever. The past year has been nothing but emo-ness to the point that even friends complain about my blog posts. I can’t help it, it was a confusing time for me, and I guess it would’ve helped if these people did something to cheer me up instead of just telling me the obvious. You know who you are. Meheheheh…

Work today was alright, getting used to the routine like I always say. Routine routine. I wonder if this is my life now. The highlight of my day was taking control of Illustrator for a little bit just to do some copy (that’s “text” to you non-advertising people) changes to some of the visuals, just because I wanted to give the designers a break and also because we keep changing stuff so often. Can’t help it, I’m not really good with details so I tend to miss things out that my boss picks up much later after the files get saved. I try my best to pick up on the little mistakes, but I guess I need to sharpen my eyes. But yeah, it was a little enjoyable to get to use Illustrator, felt like I had a bit of control rather than just sitting around and waiting for things to happen.

I think I’m starting to get the hang of my job that I am sort of capable of handling things by myself, although I still need as much support as I can get from my team especially since they all know wayyyyy much more about things than me. Plus they are quite spot-on with picking up on things that clients would pick up on. It’s just amazing, and I guess that’s why they are where they are. It’s something to aspire to I guess.

Apart from that, I got an angry e-mail from my bigger boss today because I disregarded one of his earlier e-mails he sent during the day, but I was really swamped with a lot of other things that I just didn’t have the time to reply his e-mail regarding some personal development website he wants us to join. Only managed to read both the e-mail and the following “scolding” e-mail when I was done with most of my other stuffs. I guess I need to manage my e-mail management better, because there are some e-mails that do get overlooked and forgotten. Eitherway, I replied him with a sincere apology explaining my reasons, and I have already checked out the site and registered (it takes 24 hours for the thing to activate), then I guess see what he replies and perhaps I will reply to that saying that I already did as told.

Which is kinda strange, since the Creatives (that’s the people who do the designing and creative work to you non-advertising people) always tell me that I shouldn’t always do what I am told to. Confusing betul… *faints*

Leave a Reply

