Temperature’s Rising

The month is coming to an end, and so are a few on-going campaigns I have that are soon to conclude. Well not very soon, but in the coming 2-3 weeks they will be. And the worse thing is, most of them are still in the early stages of production, and something tells me it’s just only going to get worse from here.

After every campaign concludes, I try my best to make sure it doesn’t happen in the following campaign. But somehow somewhere something seems to always go wrong, and we end up having to really “suffer” to get everything done to meet the deadline. I think one of the pitfalls of this job is that my whole work life revolves around meeting deadlines. I guess this is what most jobs are about, which is basically to get some things done by a certain time. And sadly for me, mine involves me pushing other people to get things done by said time. Of course I have a role to play, but at the end there is only so much I can do when it is other people who have the final say and not me.

I know it seems like there really isn’t much positive stuff I can talk about doing the things I do, but I guess it’s maybe because I’m still relatively new and quite at the bottom of the food chain that this is really all to it. Suffer first, enjoy later, as the saying goes. This reminds me of a talk I recently heard from a woman sharing her experiences doing her houseman on her journey to being a full-fledged doctor. The talk was about different people sharing their knowledge, experience, and advice on their jobs with young impressionable high school children, sort of like giving them a career insight. And boy did she give an insight, talking about all the “suffering” she had to endure during her 2 years as a houseman. It felt like 2 years worth of bottled emotions finally being unleashed upon these unsuspecting children who now are probably going to stay as far away from practicing medicine as possible.

Of course things get better once she was done with the 2 years, but it was that 2 years that really thought her about discipline and dedication. I’m guessing that is why I am “suffering” the way I am, because it’s all part of the learning process. My dad was giving me a little pep talk yesterday during dinner about the same thing, about learning from my superiors about leadership and taking charge of the situation. About being a good presenter, about being observant and participative in group discussions and brainstorming sessions. Blah blah blah…

Thankfully Pizza Uno food never ceases to be deliciously comforting. Although their damn prices should stop inflating for a couple of years. From RM10 to RM24 within a couple of years… now that’s just mad!

Leave a Reply

