Where’s The Remote?

I watched The Ugly Truth yesterday and whilst it’s your run-of-the-mill romantic comedy with a still watchable journey towards a predictable happy ending, I did take something from it.

More often than not I have this urge to check plans for phones or internet, sometimes even other things like toll rates, membership discount cards, promotions and offers etc that are applicable to me. I don’t know if it’s an “auntie” thing or a “cheapskate” thing or what, but I always have this unexplainable need to figure out what the best offer/deal/rates are. And the worse thing is, once I figure these things out, I sometimes have this strong urge to get the people who are on the less-economical rateplans to switch to the more economically sensible ones.

Is that one of the traits of a control freak? Although I’m not as eccentric as Katherine Heigl’s character who fusses over every single detail and even does background checks on people she dates, the fact that I have this unnerving need to “advise” people to go for the better deal makes me wonder what exactly this trait I have is all about, let alone what it says about me. On the plus side, people can easily turn to me when they want to know which to choose. It’s just another one of those random things I seem to know about.

The cinema where I went to watch that movie had a booth promoting DiGi’s new Unlimited Music thing, which led me to Maxis’s Music Unlimited (which isn’t the unlimited you think it is), following which led me to checking out the call plans Hotlink offers. It’s weird, and it’s utterly irrelevant since I’m not even using prepaid, but there I was switching between the various plans trying to figure out the differences in the offers and identifying any catches or strings. And now, I have this strong urge to ask a few people I know using Hotlink what plan they are on, and recommending them to switch to the economical one since they are eligible for it.

Yep, it’s the Hotlink youthclub. And no, I’m not being paid to promote them, although the income would be much welcomed. The rates are so unbelievably cheap compared to the other 2 possible plans, and it’s sort of killing me on the inside not knowing whether my friends are on that plan or not since they are eligible to join. I just can’t live with myself knowing that people are going on using expensive plans and unnecessarily paying more for the same quality of service.

I don’t know what’s wrong with me. Actually, I don’t even know if this is a bad thing or not. Afterall, I’m not being employed by these people to solicit my friends of which I’m quite sure many would find annoying and to some a little bit “gross”, so I kinda wonder if people appreciate my free service to help them save money or am I just being a little too much of a control freak that I need to have everything and everyone do as I say the way that I want it to be.

Hmmm…

One thought on “Where’s The Remote?

Leave a Reply

