So I’m Back In Melbourne

And nah nothing exciting has happened in the past one day.

I know I haven’t blogged in quite a long time, mostly cos I was too tired and unmotivated from my work internship I did the past 2 months. Unfortunately I did not learn as much from this internship, and I guess my first internship sort of set the benchmark that the recent one failed to meet. Oh well, at least I got something nice to add on to my resume. πŸ˜›

It was my first time flying AirAsia yesterday, though technically I flew AirAsia X, but can la it’s almost the same thing. I wasn’t expecting much, but overall I thought it was okay considering the somewhat huge savings flying AirAsia X as opposed to MAS, though with all the competition going on MAS has some equally attractively priced fares as well. It’s a bit weird having to pay for every single thing you want on the flight, as opposed to having everything “free” at your disposal on normal flights, though the cost of these things have probably been included in the airfare already.

The seats were okay, but I guess the lack of a proper recline kinda makes it less comfy. By proper, I mean the seat’s back actually reclines backwards. In AAX, the seat’s hard back doesn’t recline, but merely just the cushion that actually moves downwards and forward to give you the “illusion” of a recline. But for me, regardless whether it’s AAX or MAS or Cathay or what, on long flights my ass and back tends to feel sore and achy. Signs of my impending death from old age, I reckon.

I thought the food was not bad as well, but then again I find food served in MAS to be quite good as well. I won’t say that airline foods are fantastic and all that, but I am not as picky as some people la when it comes to having meals served thousands of feet in the air. It’s not like I can step out of the plane for other options. And I guess the good thing with AAX is that if you are really anti-airline food, they have the usual instant Maggi noodles, Oreos, Pringles, and the likes that more or less you can’t go wrong with.

The one sucky thing about flying AirAsia, or rather LCCT to be blamed for, is the fact that you kinda have to walk onto the tarmac to get to your planes. And the night I left, it was raining and there were some parts of the tarmac walkway which was uncovered and we had to make a short run from one covered part to the other. The final leg from the covered walkway to the plane had to be made while carrying an umbrella, provided by AirAsia fortunately. But I’m guessing for people with hand luggage that’s surely going to be a major inconvenience. Oh well I guess that’s the price you pay, pun intended. Hopefully the new LCCT, wherever it may be and whenever it gets completed, will be more proper than this.

Then again, thinking back when I flew JetStar from Melbourne’s Avalon Airport (the local version of LCCT), we had to walk to the plane as well and it wasn’t covered too. But at most it was drizzling so I guess I didn’t put much thought into how it would be when it does rain heavily. Wonder if they even provide umbrellas or just leave you to make a dash for it. πŸ˜›

Arriving in Melbourne was a breeze. Although the wait at the luggage carousel took me about 45mins (I think it’s cos I checked in early, so my bags were prolly right inside the baggage containers), I was fortunate enough to get a green chop on my quarantine declaration form thingey which lets me bypass the checks and go straight out. So yup that was good.

I was quite relieved to find my place not thickly blanketed in dust, so I just made some minor cleanups and am somewhat settled into my place already. Felt a bit weird being back, like as if either my whole KL thing was a dream and that I’ve been here all along… or that I’m still in KL and this whole coming back to Melb is just a dream and that I’ll wake up any moment to find myself back in my room in KL. But ya, that was yesterday, today feels more “real”.

And I’m happy that the weather today is so nice and cold, as opposed to yesterday which was quite warm. And I enjoyed grocery shopping at Safeway, which as sad as it may sound is one of the things I miss about Melbourne. And for calculative people like myself, I very much welcome Safeway’s move to include per 100gm/100ml/etc pricing at the bottom of the shelf price tags for easier comparison.

So there you have it, a somewhat long winded recap of the days past. Time flew by quite swiftly, and although it feels like it’s a long way more till I go back to KL hopefully with my degree in hand, I think that it’ll be all over before I know it. Just 4 months more only, as long as my holiday in KL was. πŸ™‚

One thought on “So I’m Back In Melbourne

Leave a Reply

