Hyperthyroidism

Just read Ah Miao’s blog post about her diagnosed hyperthyroid and when she listed some of the symptoms, 2 out of 3 of them I have. Whilst I don’t have shakey hands, I do get hungry quite frequently and my heart does beat kinda fast, even since I was young when we had to do those heart beat counting thing for Science class.

Further research showed me this list of symptoms and signs of hyperthyroidism:

  • Palpitations – my heart is generally quite regular
  • Heat intolerance – yes, very much so. one of the reasons I miss Melb.
  • Nervousness – generally get them when I have to make a presentation, though nowadays not very severe. Sometimes I don’t even feel it too.
  • Insomnia – I tend to sleep quite late sometimes, but nah I don’t think it’s insomnia. It’s internet-nia.
  • Breathlessness – I do. My old accupressurist told me that my lungs are smaller than usual hence I tend to have breathing difficulties.
  • Increased bowel movements – unfortunately, I have sometimes resorted to taking Fybogel and the likes. I blame my diet of unhealthy but delicious foods.
  • Light or absent menstrual periods – oh my my, mine are always absent… should I be concerned? 😛
  • Fatigue – yep, I do get tired out quite easily.
  • Fast heart rate – as mentioned earlier, I believe my heart rate is faster than average.
  • Trembling hands – nope, my hands are fine.
  • Weight loss – I wish.
  • Muscle weakness – generally don’t get it unless I suddenly lift heavy objects or do a lot of cleaning, things which I don’t do often.
  • Warm moist skin – think I have dry skin. But I’m generally quite warm/hot/heaty.
  • Hair loss – Nah, I’m fine.
  • Staring gaze – only around extremely boring people.

Based on all of that, I seem to have probably 70% of the symptoms. But I realise that many types of these health problem thingeys share similar symptoms and hence it’s hard to deduce by myself without going for a blood test or something. I still haven’t had a blood test in probably ever, and nobody knows what my blood type is.

Really should get myself checked soon. Got all sorts of sicknesses developing since Melbourne. I don’t know. Hehehe…

On the bright side, I finally updated this blog. I do feel kinda sian to update sometimes because it takes ages to log into my WordPress to post. I have NO idea why.

3 thoughts on “Hyperthyroidism

  1. There’s no such thing as a hyperthyroidism diet, but what you eat matters. Hyperthyroidism—when your thyroid gland produces too much thyroid hormone—can’t be prevented or treated though diet alone. It’s often treated with prescription medication, so see your doctor immediately if you have hyperthyroidism symptoms. But by eating certain foods, you can limit some mild hyperthyroidism symptoms. *

    Our favorite homepage
    <'http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/sclerosis-of-the-liver/

Leave a Reply

